Posted on

Part III

III.

Well the hospital visit flew by, and to my relief they didn’t ask any serious questions. She wasn’t hurt to bad, but they said we should put some ice on it.

“ Rick, even though they didn’t ask any questions this needs to be reported to the police.”

“ But why? She’ s okay.”

“ It doesn’t matter if she’ s okay. Somebody hit her, wait no, not just somebody Jason, that asshole Jason hurt your baby girl. He put his drug-ridden hands on your only child. He …”

“ Okay Daniel. I get it. You can tell the police.”

“ No. I’ m not going to tell the police. I wasn’t there when it happened. You need to tell them.”

“ I don’ t know if I can do it.”

“ Why not?”

“ He didn’t mean anything by it Dan.”

“ He meant to hurt her. And you are going to tell the police. We are going to drop Bri off at my mom’ s and we are going to the police station.”

That is Daniel, always trying to lead me in the right direction. I usually listen, but this time I don’ t want to. I don’ t want Jason to go to jail. He didn’t mean anything, did he? It was the drugs. He is usually a really nice person, and he loves Bri, it’ s just the drugs…

“ Rick!”

“ Huh? What happened?”

“ You were daydreaming or something.”

“ I guess I’ m just a little stressed.”

“ Pull over. Let me drive.”

So Daniel drove the rest of the way to the station. I think he was talking to me but I wasn’t really listening. I had to figure out how to tell the police what happened. Do I just come out and say ‘ I’ m filing a child abuse report against my ex-boyfriend for hitting my child.’ ? Will they do anything? This whole town is biased against homosexual people. Can I trust them? Everyone of authority I know has betrayed me; can I bring myself to trust them again?

As we went in I decided I was going to tell them exactly what happened.

*Disclaimer* All events stated are  fictional and any similarity with anyone’s actual life is purely coincidental.

About kookiidd

17. Lesbian.

Leave a comment